Thirteen Hallows Redux

It’s been a little while since I read the original by Michael Scott. Thirteen Hallows by Michael Scott and Colette Freeman is the rewrite of Michael Scott’s The Hallows. But I remembered most of the main points of the story. And I remembered loving it. I am happy to say that the redo didn’t disappoint. Since it had been some time since I read the original, I must admit I don’t really know how different it was; it felt like a reread with some small cultural references updated – like talk of updated technology with the reference to a blackberry which I am sure was one of the updates. But I didn’t feel like there were substantial differences. So… For that reason, this review will be very brief since I have a review of the original.

We have a set of ancient artifacts (obviously there are 13 of them and they are called the Hallows), a bad guy trying to bring them together so he can be all powerful and create some sort of chaos or event to end the world, an innocent or two who turn out to be heroes and something supernatural coupled with murder and/or torture to bring about the requisite horror gore. Here, the 13 Hallows of Britain and a young lady who saved an old woman and ends up with one of the Hallows. And we start the story of keeping the last few from falling into the hands of the bad guy who wants to use the Hallows to bring demons back and obtain all sorts of power.

I won’t spoil it for those who don’t want to be spoiled (at least I won’t here but no promises that I won’t put up a page if I see it confirmed anywhere that there will be a sequel…) so let’s just say that if you are looking for a good horror story – with the gore to go with – that is set up for a sequel, then read this book!

Leave a Reply

